And So, Why Not Get Rid Of Tort Reform?


I am often told that I’m a greedy lawyer. I agree,, I want every penny of justice the damn insurance company should pay for my client’s death or injuries.

Let me ask you this,, how much is your life worth? How much is your child’s life worth? How much is your spouse’s life worth?

What if Texas allows a fella who holds a special piece of paper, (college degree from a medical school) to KILL one of the above,, spouse, child, parent, or even yourself and then only pay $250,000.00?

Would it be enough? How about they make him or her pay $750,000.00,, is that any better? Is it enough to take away the suffering, pain, humiliation, guilt and a hundred other feelings you might have if this happens to you?

I don’t know much,, and I do know this,, a painting sold for $85,000,000.00. A human life for $250,000.00 or even $750,000.00?

WHY?

There is only one reason,, profit, profit, profit. That’s it.

So, here we are, the doctors say their malpractice premiums are down, maybe they are maybe not,, but I’m sure an insurance company will raise them again shortly,, but they don’t ask the doctors this very important question.

ARE YOU MAKING MORE MONEY OR LESS THAN BEFORE? CAN YOU DO THE NECESSARY TESTS OR ARE YOU LIMITED IN WHAT TESTS YOU CAN DO BEFORE AN IMPORTANT SURGERY?

It is my finding, (no research) but in discussions with my doctor friends, this,,, “we pay less in malpractice insurance than before,, but we are constantly fighting some “bean counter” to get necessary pre-op tests approved” and “we are making less money than before, because they (the insurance companies) cut the benefits and the amount of money we can charge a patient or insurance company.

What I hear is this,, I’m afraid to do some surgeries because the “insurance companies” won’t authorize medically necessary tests prior to surgery and we either have to create a “patient mill” or go without staff and pare down. I hear that doctors want more lee-way to do tests and want more money for their talents,, i.e., see less patients and make the same amount of money,, rather than just run several patients through their clinic.

So in the end, do you as a patient want a doctor who is paying attention to your health needs or do you want to be like cattle waiting for slaughter? Do you want Sam’s club running your surgeries or do you want independence?

I want doctors who can take the time to answer all my questions, do all the proper tests and then take the time to properly do the procedures,, not some doctor who now must see 4 patients in the times it takes to actually examine properly just little ole me.

Something to really think about.

Peace

Leave a Reply

