Are Psychodrama’s Face and Methods Changing? Is It Safe Anymore? Is There Love Or Is There No Acceptance For Those Are Injured?


It wouldn’t be right nor is it my style to break anonymity in my therapy and tell what happened to others, I respect that art of psychodrama, but I can and fucking will speak about what happened to me.

I have some issues that I’ve been working on for a hell of a long time and some of those issues are very difficult to me to even mention or work on. Just as some people may have paper cuts as their “core issue” others, like me, have different issues that make me who I am or perhaps stand in the way of who we are.

I am amazed that people can not accept the level of safety for the individual who is in therapy as their own truth, whether or not it is true,, it is safe for that person. In the particular therapy I have been undergoing for a long time, psychodrama,, I believe it is important to meet the person at their truth, whatever that may be. For instance, J.R, Moreno once worked at an institution and one particular fella kept telling everyone he was Jesus. The problem was, as I understand it, that this Jesus fella liked to preach in the nude on the hillside near a convent and the nuns who saw him kept complaining about this nude fella who was preaching.

Now the story goes, as I’m told that instead of Moreno meeting this fella on the hilltop and putting him in restraints or whatever, he simply meet him at his reality, and said words to this effect,, “Jesus,, I’ve always wanted to meet you, and enjoy meeting you but isn’t it a little cold up here on this hillside and would you mind putting on some robes?”

The story further goes that this Jesus fella put on his robes and was met on his reality field,, not on the field of what others might do. HE WAS MET AT HIS TRUTH AND ACCEPTED FOR HIS TRUTH,, NOT REJECTED AND TOLD HE WAS UNSAFE.

So, I can only speak for my truth,, In my sessions, I told my “safe” people I was tired and slept because I felt safe. Maybe that’s a lie, maybe not because there’s some truth in that,, but the real reason is this,, I am a recovering addict and alcoholic and have to take some medicine (pills) that I don’t want nor do I like to take, because they trigger memories of blackouts and very destructive behavior in the past. Now the medicines I take are very, very, very fucking strong blood pressure medicine, heart medicine, stomach medicine and cholesterol and triglyceride medicine. It actually took a doctor in the group to notice that my issue was medical, not disassociation.

I am not proud of letting people know that I take these medicines and I have been out for weeks now. My fucking insurance has a cap on medicine of $3,000.00 per year and I have exhausted that, so I get real high (dangerously high) readings and actually pass out from the lack of medicine. I chose to tell people my truth,, I sleep in the seminar because I am safe and sleep calms me down where I can be present in the traumas of others,, otherwise my blood pressure rises to a point where I pass out because of the charge of energy and extremely elevated blood pressure. So I sleep instead of having a stroke. I also wonder if a new person who is first introduced to psychodrama doesn’t really lie either,, or at least not tell the entire truth about them. I feel they don’t, but I can accept them for their truth, not my version of what I may know it is. I may see someone has other issues or want to push them to new levels of recovery, but I don’t,, I accept and respect their truth and I guess that’s all I ask. And if I can’t be accepted,, how in the fuck can I feel safe to tell my truths or work on my “core issues” whatever they may be.

I am not proud of telling people of my weakness about my absolute need for medicine, and that I can’t afford it because of its costs, but instead of accepting my truth, I sleep because I am safe,, they make me unsafe by throwing me out of the group for not being present.

I am shocked, amazed and yet understand that the imperfections of humanity don’t really allow any true growth toward love when there is no acceptance of another’s truth.

It shows me the absolute imperfection of those who claim acceptance but in reality won’t accept the other person’s truth.. What if I had cancer or AIDS and told that,, would it be any different, or would it be a lesson in reality that frankly some people are just there although not 100% in mind?

I guess the bottom fucking line for me is this,, I accept those who have been abused, I accept those who are looking for boundaries, I accept those who suffer from PTSD, those who are fighting fights with their parents and those who teach valuable lessons,, but isn’t is interesting that those who sleep or don’t violate confidences aren’t accepted?

I wonder what Moreno would say? Is psychodrama taking a new role around acceptance of those who only can deal with certain issues or do we forget about the newspaper or open theatre?

I just fucking wonder. Is it a need for therapists to make more money to solve things that maybe don’t need to be solved,, is it nothing more than a giant fucking corporation again? I notice some psychodramatists who only want to work in certain ways and accept only one method as the truth, then I notice some who are so scattered that they fail to see the groups are what the groups are sciometrically,, not as they envision them.

In the end, psychodrama is doomed if no one will accept those who are not acceptable. I am confident Moreno and Zerka would say so.

Peace.

2 Responses to “Are Psychodrama’s Face and Methods Changing? Is It Safe Anymore? Is There Love Or Is There No Acceptance For Those Are Injured?”

  1. Bob Says:

    You state that you are “amazed that people can not accept the level of safety for the individual who is in therapy as their own truth, whether or not it is true… it is safe for that person.” My questions are: Do you really feel the safety of one should be considered more important than the safety of the group as a whole? If one individual is creating an unsafe experience for many or another by his or her actions, actions the individual believes creates safety for her or himself, should he or she be allowed to continue acting out to the detriment of the group or another person? You have written recently of your need to sleep while in a group setting because it is a place you feel safe to rest. What if in the same group, an individual feels unseen, unheard, and unsafe around a person sleeping? Whose safety is to be valued? Is it the person who is in the midst of the group sleeping, or is it the person who is awake and participating? I wonder if the sleeping group member believes she or he is more important than the remaining group members.

    This posting, and your most recent postings, read as though you feel some judgement against you for your recent actions in the group you have been attending. Are you not applying the same judgement to others by deeming that “some people may have paper cuts as their ‘core issues’” while others such as yourself “have different issues?” If we truly want others to accept our needs for safety, what gives anyone the right to judge another’s “core issues” as simply a paper cut? Doesn’t such a statement and opinion create an unsafe space for others?

    You refer to a story related by Dr. Moreno, however, you have not related the story accurately. In the story, Dr. Moreno spoke to a man who believed himself to be Jesus and had been “preaching” in the nude outside of a convent of nuns. Dr. Moreno did indeed meet the man “where he was” by not trying to convince him that he was not Jesus, but spoke to him as if he were. Dr. Moreno pointed out the nearby nuns to the man and that they were uncomfortable with the nudity. Dr. Moreno appealed to the characteristics of Jesus that he would not desire to make others’ uncomfortable. The man, who believed himself to be Jesus, agreed that he did not want to cause others to be uncomfortable and then went and clothed himself. Dr. Moreno appealed to the man’s compassion for others, not the needs of the individual.

    I wonder if you had allowed your “safe” people to know your “real reason,” your real truth for sleeping if they might have responded with the compassion and acceptance that you are seeking. When we hold back our truth from those we consider to be our “safe” people, are we really creating safety for ourselves and them, or are we creating the sense of safety in a field deception? If we claim one truth and then say, “Wait, that might be a lie; this is my ‘real’ truth.” Which truth are others supposed to believe? Should we expect them to believe either? Would we trust someone else if their truths changed? Would we feel safe around them?

    You claim acceptance of those who have been abused, looking for boundaries, coping with PTSD, struggling with parents. Are you really accepting of them if you are sleeping around them? If I were dealing with any of these issues in front of a sleeping individual, I would not feel accepted; I would not feel safe.

    You ask what Dr. Moreno would say? According to the website of Moreno Institute East (www.morenoinstituteeast.org/bios.htm), “[his] autobiography describes his position as ‘threefold:
    1. Spontaneity and creativity are the propelling forces in human progress, beyond and independent of libido and socioeconomic motives [that] are frequently interwoven with spontaneity-creativity, but [this proposition] does deny that spontaneity and creativity are merely a function and derivative of libido or socioeconomic motives.
    2. Love and mutual sharing are powerful, indispensable working principles in group life. Therefore, it is imperative that we have faith in our fellow man’s intentions, a faith which transcends mere obedience arising from physical or legalistic coercion.
    3. That a superdynamic community based on these principles can be brought to realization through new techniques…’”

    For the experience you have described, Dr. Moreno’s second position seems most relevant. Group life must have love, mutual sharing, and faith in our fellow man’s intentions. I ask you, what type of group member are you? Have you shown love for your other group members by sleeping and holding back your truth? Have you allowed mutual sharing by sleeping? Have you allowed for other’s to have faith in your intentions as you slept? I wonder if, as a group member, you are able to live up to the demands of safety and acceptance that you have placed on others. I also wonder why, if you have been aware of your medical condition for some time, you would attend a group seminar. If you know that you are unable to stay awake due to your health, what message are you sending to the other group members?

    In the end, psychodrama will far outlive your experience with this group as long as group members continue to strive to create a safe place for themselves and others.

    • paul2413 Says:

      In suppose that everyone has and should have their own truths,, I agree with safety in a group,, if a person brandishes a weapon around in a drama (loaded),, it is unsafe, but if a person is new to a group and is asked how he or she feels,, does one say,, (not knowing anyone else in this “supposedly safe” group,, that I’m a sex addict, a child molester, on psychochotic medication, recently paroled and feeling like having sex with another who doesn’t know I’m alive,,, truthful,, open,, but is it safe for others in the group to hear that?
      If the same individual says,, I’m might sleep during some of this because I’m tired,, wouldn’t the others feel safe and not even know his real reality?
      I guess my point in my story about Moreno is that he met his “jesus” on “jesus”‘s reality, not the accepted norm of you’re crazy.
      So in the end,, is the group safety one where complete disclosure is always in the best interest of safety, or is it okay to slowly open up to how you are feeling?
      I just wonder if safety shouldn’t be discussed more at the beginning and members asked, new and old,, is it okay if people hit or throw objects, scream, leave the room, fart, burp or even just go to sleep?
      I also note that it was a medical doctor that made the proper diagnosis of improper levels of medicine, not the psychodramatist, worried and maybe rightfully so about a crisis.
      I suppose with a clinical history of every member of the group.. it’s one thing,, but did that happen inn open theartre?
      Anyway, enough said,,, in the end, acceptance is a fine line that is like our own truth,, it;s what we believe it is.
      Peace

Leave a Reply

